Cisco Houston Web Site


Nursery Rhymes, Games and Folksongs

Folkways LP # FC7006, later issued as Scholastic SC 7606

1963 (according to the LP, 1966 per the sleeve)

Track Listing:

Side 1:
  1. London Bridge
  2. My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean
  3. Pumpkin Eater
  4. Three Blind Mice
  5. Humpty Dumpty
  6. Peas Porridge Hot
  7. Mulberry Bush
  8. What Are Little Boys Made Of?
Side 2:
  1. Yonder Tree
  2. Froggie Went A-Courting
  3. My Daddy
  4. Clickety Clack
  5. Cape Cod

LP Images:

Enclosed LP Notes:

The transcription of Cisco's text is available on the bottom of the first page here.


Jim Clark

Hmmmmm. Well, these songs would probably not be known to the average 8 year old today, as they once were. And listening to them, one wonders whether that is a good thing or a bad one. The repetitive round-like songs like "Three Blind Mice" or "Humpty Dumpty" sure make me wonder what the producer was thinking. But once Cisco has some material to work with, Side 2 is a delight. Again, you can't help but feel that this was a good man. The charm and warmth are evident.

Many of these recordings are available on YouTube. You can listen to over 161 Cisco performances now, courtesy of many uploaders, and for this LP, of Smithsonian Folkways.

We welcome any suggestions, contributions, or questions. You send it, we'll consider using it. Help us spread the word. And the music. And thanks for visiting.